New Camera = Overwhelming Joy

Good morning, bloggies!

I have finally replaced the camera that broke about 2 months ago (I know, I know– terrible!), so now I will actually be able to update and take new pictures! Hurrah!

As a lot of valuable time has been lost, I’ll post some din-din pics ASAP:

Organic whole wheat pasta with organic tomato and "meat" sauce---> An Italian vegan's twist on a family classic!

1. Pasta–> In case you haven’t caught on, I come from a very Italian family, so pasta is not an extravagance, but a must for us in this household! With satisfying but not-too-heavy whole grains, lighter protein sources, and organic tomatoes with a sprinkle of basil and oregano, I think even the most narrow-minded of my aunts and uncles would enjoy this twist on an old staple!

2. Tempeh madness!–> I have been trying to branch out and make sure I get protein from a variety of sources, not just processed soy foods, which can be high in sodium and, let’s face it, how healthful is it really to get all of your protein from one single food? That can be processed, nonetheless? I’ve been doing some more reading on eating healthfully on a vegan diet (like this), and was delighted to try seitan or “wheat meat” as a nice soy-free substitute and things like miso and tempeh, which are soy-based but fermented, which means they do not carry some of the risks associated with soy allergies (which I do not have, but who doesn’t love a little variety??) Soooo I picked up both tofu alternatives and was very pleased with the resulting stir-frys I created…

Hint: There are lots of different types of tempeh, like wild rice or barley oats- choose the one that best suits your taste buds

a) A little olive oil in the pan + fresh veggies (I chose broccoli and peppers, two of my faves!) + protein source (soy-based like tofu or tempeh, or wheat-based seitan or legumes like beans, lentils, etc.) + spices + organic brown rice =Β Β One super quick, healthful, and ridiculously easy dinner! If you’re in a time crunch (helloooo fellow students!) Make a big-a$$ pot of brown rice one night and keep it refrigerated so you can take from it as much as you need throughout the week.

b) 20 minutes for dinner and a limited supply of ingredients? Tempeh, leftover rice, 1/2 a red pepper, and some sweet mango chutney from Indian cuisine brand Patak’s makes for another tasty (and hasty!) solution.

Stir-frying in the pan...

...And eating from the bowl!

3. Quinoa–> Pronounced “keen-WAH” (it’s OK, for the longest time I was saying “kwee-NO-uh”, yikes!) this ancient South American grain is one of the best natural protein sources known to man! It’s light but satisfying, and makes a mean salad or pilaf. Pictured is a salad I got in Israel (that I have yet to copy!), though I did recently make a yummy quinoa pilaf with toasted sesame and sunflower seeds for an Easter brunch at my boyfriend’s place πŸ™‚

Quinoa with cooked green beans, mint leaves, grilled eggplant, and diced cucumbers with a hint of olive oil-- Utterly orgasmic!!!

Yeeeshh this is a long post, but I guess because I (a) can’t shut up and (b) haven’t been able to blog in a while it’s OK… right? Well, I actually have some snack reviews coming up…

1. Yogi granola crisps–> A+ right off the bat! Besides the fact that I am obsessed with Yogi brand teas, etc., these thin granola crisps are sooo delicious that they are equally tempting alone as they are in soy yogurt! I personally like them in some plain Silk Live! yogurt, sometimes with a little dried Β or fresh fruit (raisins, berries, etc.) on top for an extra kick πŸ˜‰

2. Gerb’s pumpkin seeds–> Going along the “alternative protein route”, I’ve been consuming more seeds and legumes to wean myself off of a dependence on soy. Again, I have no allergies to soy, but I do believe that eating a greater variety of the purest foods possible is really ideal, as opposed to sticking to just one type of protein source at every single meal. With this in mind, I’ve invested in things like sunflower seeds and pumpkin seeds in addition to the organic soynuts I’ve been known to nosh on, and I must say that these are particularly tasty! They come in a huge variety of flavors, but I prefer lightly salty simply due to personal preferences and a wish to stay away from excessive amounts of sodium. These make Β the perfect snack food, and can be combined with basically anything else (though they’re sooo good I like to keep mine separate)!

PS: How cute is the little hamsterish guy in the corner?!?

Well, lovelies, I think that more or less wraps things up (*phew!*) in this marathon post. I’m off to finish up some chores and then meet a friend for late morning tea (haha I am such a grandma!), then hopefully spend some time outside picking the last of the daffodils and gardening a bit. Meanwhile, this little guy is quite literally running around me in circles:

Albert, a "bunny with the most personality ever"!

Aaaand now he’s eating my binders. At least now I have an excuse to not do homework…? Ehh, not so much. But oh, well Β πŸ˜‰

Laters!

<3’s

Gabriella

April 19, 2010. Tags: , , , , , , . Uncategorized.

3 Comments

  1. Tara Savage replied:

    YAHOOO! YOU HAVE A CAMERA!!! I really want to try Quinoa I wonder if whole foods sells it!? MM I think i need to have a few meals at your house ok?? hehe Everything looks so devine!
    OH Albert what an adorable personality filled BEAST!!! (I love that you quoted me! hahah) ❀ ❀ ❀ ❀ ❀

  2. sagojyou replied:

    Yeaaaaaaaaaaaaaay for updates!! Nice foodies you got there! πŸ˜€

    I totally understand about how some food are a necessity (for me, it’s brown rice; I will DIE without it!!! I’m so Japanese, I know) πŸ˜‰

    The stir fry looks yum! Seems like I can make that with tofu instead of tempeh πŸ™‚ (Tempehs aren’t my fave…) And Albert! He’s sooooooooo cute! ❀

  3. Laura replied:

    What kind of camera did you get?!?

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

